MPH or Knots? (New IFR Student)

Buck Rizvi

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
BoulderBuck
I'm an IFR student and I've recently updated the panel on my '73 Piper Cherokee Six.

My '73 Owners Manual and the original airspeed indicator is in MPH.

Garmin requires that the dual G5's I've installed as primary AI and HSI be set to MPH to match the owner's manual and airspeed indicator.

Is there a way for me to legally get everything switched over to knots? Wouldn't this be preferred if I'm flying IFR?

My airspeed indictor has an inner ring for knots and it's easy enough to reprogram the G5 to knots. I can also update all the cockpit placards and the owner's manual to knots easily enough. Does this require an FAA Field Approval?

What's the best practice here? Thanks!

I'm an IFR student and I've recently updated the panel on my '73 Piper Cherokee Six.

My '73 Owners Manual and the original airspeed indicator is in MPH.

Garmin requires that the dual G5's I've installed as primary AI and HSI be set to MPH to match the owner's manual and airspeed indicator.

Is there a way for me to legally get everything switched over to knots? Wouldn't this be preferred if I'm flying IFR?

My airspeed indictor has an inner ring for knots and it's easy enough to reprogram the G5 to knots. I can also update all the cockpit placards and the owner's manual to knots easily enough. Does this require an FAA Field Approval?

What's the best practice here? Thanks!

Not necessary. I just did my IR in my 1965 Cherokee 140. No issues. Like you my airspeed indicator had inner ring for knots and that’s what I used for timing my approaches to MAP (90 knots).

I can also update all the cockpit placards and the owner's manual to knots easily enough.

You can easily update the owner's manual of a '73 Piper aircraft? That doesn't sound right.

Anyway, leave it all MPH. It's faster that way. And use the knts only for flight planning and looking at your GPS ground speed.