Moving to a new instructor that likes the 141 syllabus

NovaBandit

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
NovaBandit
I am a fairly new student pilot. I've been very happy with my current instructor, but he is unavailable for a few months due to surgery.

I'm a pretty fast learner, solo'd at 7 hours, and I'm at about 11 hours now.

But now I need to find a new instructor.

The one that was recommended to me is a CFII from a 141 school who would teach me on the side. (My school is a very informal 61). I met with her, and she seems competent enough. But she is from an educational background, and got her PPL and CFII around 2006-2007, where my first instructor was an old school flyer in his 60's with thousands of hours in everything with wings on it.

I'm a little nervous that she's going to stick me on a program that we'll do what the book says I should do, and not be doing what I necessarily need. She's said that she likes to teach from the Jeppessen 141 syllabus.

There is another instructor available who I know is good, and teaches more along the part 61 lines, but scheduling will be tough with her.

Any thoughts?

I felt very comfortable with the instructor I had, bur he's not an option for the next 2 months. Like I said, he's very old school, and teaches based on his experience. I have my first lesson with the 141 CFI this afternoon, so I'm sure I'll have a better feel for her after the lesson.

Unfortunately, money is a factor for me, so I am trying hard to find instruction that is very to the point.

Fly with this 141 style instructor. Do your next lesson with the other instructor you mentioned and then decide whose teaching style you like better.

People learn in different styles and what works for one may not work for another. I don't think anyone here could give you an answer of who to pick, just guidelines on how you may chose to pick on over the other.

Good advice. That's what I'll do.