Motion sickness medication

ssonixx

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
ssonixx
I have had this question floating around in the back of my head for a while. Tossing it out there to see if anyone has any thoughts.

Motion sickness medication helps to alleviate nausea, right? So, wouldn't it also reduce the sensory illusion of turning/banking while flying in IFR conditions?

Well I am a VFR pilot and a few weeks ago I accidently flew into full IMC - at night. I did not have any sensations of turning. I really felt like I was straight and level while I tried to follow a heading given to me by ATC. Then I saw the Turn Coordinator rock and the ball swing one way then the other. Then the Directional Gyro started spinning. The Vertical Speed Indicator indicated a rapid descent and the airspeed was increasing. But I did not feel anything. When I broke out of the IMC I was in a steep bank and nose down. And all along I thought I had been doing such a good job of staying level.

Try a "C-Band" available at most drug stores...it puts pressure on a point on your wrist. Also try the seasoning called ginger...that works too for motion sickness.

Neither of these will keep you out of IMC but they will keep you from barfiing.

I have had this question floating around in the back of my head for a while. Tossing it out there to see if anyone has any thoughts.

Motion sickness medication helps to alleviate nausea, right? So, wouldn't it also reduce the sensory illusion of turning/banking while flying in IFR conditions?

Fly more, you'll get over it. Mrs. Steingar wears one of those bracelets, works like a charm. Doesn't for everyone though.

Well I am a VFR pilot and a few weeks ago I accidently flew into full IMC - at night.

How could you "inadvertently" enter IMC down there? There are so many lights on the ground, how did you not notice them going out at once? Unless you were over the Everglades at night, which is not an entirely good place to be in the first place.