More "can I log it" questions

dell30rb

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ren
A friend of a friend may give me the opportunity to ride on a few of his trips as a charter pilot. I'm an instrument student and I think this will be a great way to get extra practical experience. I know they transport passengers and sometimes time-sensitive cargo. I'm not sure what types his company flies but I know they operate barons.

I'm really looking forward to this... but my question is how can I log whatever time I may spend in the right seat? I know he is an instructor and probably a multi-instructor as well, if that makes any difference.

Last edited:
If he's a multi-instructor and is willing to give you instruction, you'll be able to log it as multi dual with his signature. You will not be able to log it as PIC, because you aren't rated for multi. You also won't be allowed to operate the controls while he is operating it as a Part 135 charter, only on the part 91 repositioning legs. That said, I think you'll find the time valuable even if all you can do is sit in the back and watch him operate.

does anything change if we fly an aircraft I am rated in?

can I log the right seat time during the 135 legs as any type of flight time even if I do not touch the controls?

Thanks!

can I log the right seat time during the 135 legs as any type of flight time even if I do not touch the controls?
No, you are a passenger for those legs. If you think about it, how would you justify it? You're not manipulating the controls if you are not touching them, and you are not the PIC. A Baron does not require an SIC and even if it did you wouldn't be qualified to touch the controls on a 135 leg unless you had gone through the operator's 135 training.

Last edited:

Thanks!