Mixture leaning strategies/thoughts

Tristar

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Tristar
As a pilot and even student alike, we are taught that to have the proper air to fuel ratio we were supposed to lean the mixture to a certain amount. Obviously this helps with finding the perfect amount of fuel to a certain amount of air molecules which also depends on temp of that air since hot air has a different density than cold.

In my flight training, I was taught to listen to the engine. We didn't have EGTs and I honestly had never messed with one until my instrument training in college. I still to this day want to twist the red knob back until engine roughness and then twist in about three times. I will admit I'm still learning the best way to lean an engine but my original procedure hasn't failed me. If I understand this right, most people lean above 3,000 ft but you can at any point during your flight. I consider it a good procedure to twist it full rich during final landing preperation but this may not always hold true depending on where your flying.

So after all of my learning up to this point is said and done, I was curious if you would share your thoughts and processes as to your leaning procedures. Maybe what you find works for your aircraft in general or maybe what to watch out for such as detonation and over/under leaning.

Also for you A&P types or just really intellegent pilots, I was curious how much increase does one twist of a mixture knob do and is there a significant difference between an EGT guage and the old "listen and richen" method?

Fly safe,
Tristan

tristan, in my vast 172 flying experience, ive never noticed much of a difference between listnening for roughness then enrichening till smooth, and setting 75-100 degF rich of peak EGT. This method works good for small non turbo'd engines, IME.