Military Pilot Shortage: Recruiting retired military pilots

Shepherd

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Shepherd
I hear through the grapevine that the military is so short of pilots it's contacting former pilots and asking if they want to get back into the service.
I think I'll go over to the Air Force recruiter and see if they want a bald, chubby, ancient Randy Quaid, wannabe.

"Hello boys. I'm baaaaack!"

Maybe that's why we haven't seen Levy in a while.

I’m a 38 year old accountant but I loved Top Gun as a kid, maybe the Navy will let me fly the F/A-18?

USAF having a difficult time retaining pilots due to the operating tempo of the long wars in the Middle East, airlines hiring, and now Korea heating up.

USAF having a difficult time retaining pilots due to the operating tempo of the long wars in the Middle East, airlines hiring, and now Korea heating up.
Your list could be a lot longer. Social engineering is at the top of my list of complaints. But there are many others.

Your list could be a lot longer. Social engineering is at the top of my list of complaints. But there are many others.

I'm sure there's more reasons. Many I knew when I was in just wanted to fly and not have to do the staff job type of stuff to get promoted.

I'm sure there's more reasons. Many I knew when I was in just wanted to fly and not have to do the staff job type of stuff to get promoted.
Yeah, that's really the issue. It hasn't changed. The thing is, now you're going to have O-5s coming back to do the jobs of O-3s and O-4s. Not a bad deal in my opinion, but the the younger guys may continue to get screwed. We'll see how it plays out.

I’m a 38 year old accountant but I loved Top Gun as a kid, maybe the Navy will let me fly the F/A-18?