"Mild" Sleep Apnea

U

Unregistered

I'm a young pilot (under 30) and my wife has complained before about me snoring and even stopping breathing from time to time. I've got an annual physical appointment lined up in a few weeks and I'm wondering if I should bring it up and ask about it (see reasons below).

I went ahead and did a self sleep study using a datalogging Pulse Oximiter. What I found was that my spO2 levels primarily stayed between 95 & 99, and the lowest it got was 91 (one time). There were also three other times it got as low as 93. I recorded 6 times during the night that my pulse increased rapidly along with the spO2 levels dropping. From looking at this data it appears I did indeed have 6 apnea events. I also did an audio recording and verified I was snoring before these events and then stopped breathing for a short time.

In my bit of research I found that there is a measurement of the severity of abnormal breathing and is basically measured in number of apnea events per hour. In my case I believe this number would be around 1 which would be categorized as "normal." Additionally since my spO2 never dropped below 90% I think this would also be normal. I don't have any problem staying awake during the day and can't remember the last time I took a nap during the day.

I'm wondering if I should even bring this up with my GP this month during my annual or if it would be good to go ahead and discuss with him and see what he thinks. Thanks for any input and help you can provide.

You could bring it up, he might be able to explain the readings a little better. I don't think it would hurt anything.

I can't remember the exact number, 6 or 7? You need this many apneas per hour to meet the requirement for an OSA diagnosis. And to count as an apnea event, you have to stop breathing for a particular amount of time.