Mechanical Questions 101

LifeAsBen

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
LifeAsBen
Hi, new to the forum. Already have found many great posts and have learned a lot. So first I would like to just say thanks to the community for contributing and generating an amazingly useful place!

I'm a low time pilot, 100 hrs. I first got my license over 15 years ago and have only flown seldomly since. I am now actively flying and working towards instrument rating.

Anyway, I've always found it odd that as students we're never really allowed to see and touch anything under the cowl (beyond pulling a dip stick). I feel like a certain amount of hands on mechanical instruction would be beneficial to a private ticket. I realize that everyone has different skills and interests, mine lean towards mechanical so I thought I'd start a thread with my questions (hopefully they'll be useful for others too):

1 - Why are engine rpm's limited so low? Your average car can spin up to 6,000 without issue. As a vintage BMW motorcycle owner I appreciate that we operate our boxer engines at low rpms but even my old beemer will see 5k rpm with no issue. Just curious.

2 - Why do spark plugs seem to foul so often? Our daily cars and trucks never seem to have this issue, or maybe it's just that we never notice it.

3 - Why are we still in the dark ages choosing our own mixture? We trust computers to do almost everything in our modern lives, many of us driving cars with drive by wire braking and power steering. But yet we as pilots (or maybe policy) think we can choose the best fuel / air mixture. I know FADEC is a thing but for the most part (it seems) that all GA training craft are manual. I can only imagine how poor we truly are at choosing the best mixture setting by sound vs. actual data as a computer would.