maybe I'm crazy.....

korben88

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Troy
..... but isn't saying that I posses a current pilot certificate and identifying myself as a pilot pretty much the same damn thing?

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    14.1 KB · Views: 140
Maybe I'm crazy, but I've never told AFSS I'm a pilot, and they don't seem to care at all, even when filing an IFR flight plan. One would think it's obvious.

I've never told anyone giving me a wx brief that I am indeed a pilot. I just figured that it is assumed.

Of all the times I've gotten a brief from FS they have never asked nor have I told them. Chances are a non-pilot wouldn't know what to ask for anyway.

I didn't think it was a requirement to be a pilot to call for a briefing. When you're a student you call FSS with a student cert. Wonder which regs states this requirement.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I was taught to identify myself as a pilot as a lot of others like famers and other industries can use the briefing service as well.

I was taught to identify myself as a pilot as a lot of others like famers and other industries can use the briefing service as well.

If I recall, that was one of the questions on the private pilot written and the answer was, "identify yourself as a pilot." But I've only talked to a flight service station twice. Once when I was in training and had to file a flight plan (they didn't ask and I didn't tell) and the other over the radio when the DPE made me call them for weather on my check ride. (again, they didn't ask and I didn't tell. Since I was in flight I guess they assumed)

..... but isn't saying that I posses a current pilot certificate and identifying myself as a pilot pretty much the same damn thing?
Not necessarily.

Student pilots have certificates.

And weather briefings are sometimes acquired by dispatch personnel.

But honestly, no one cares.