"Max heart rate"

s35pilot

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
s35pilot
Kind of related to aviation as it has to do with staying healthy. I've been running to stay fit for 6 or 7 years. I do enjoy the result, and enjoy the running most of the time. Now that heart rate monitors are so prevelant it seems that more attention is on heart rate. Somebody mentioned to me that I should keep my HR down to 85% of max. I'm 62 so I think that's somewhere around .85x158. I looked on the Internet, and that does seem to be a popular opinion. The problem I have is that I routinely exceed my "max" heart rate for pretty long intervals, and pretty much always exceed 85%. I feel like it wouldn't be a good run if I didn't do that. Any other runners or cardiac experts here? What say you?

Kind of related to aviation as it has to do with staying healthy. I've been running to stay fit for 6 or 7 years. I do enjoy the result, and enjoy the running most of the time. Now that heart rate monitors are so prevelant it seems that more attention is on heart rate. Somebody mentioned to me that I should keep my HR down to 85% of max. I'm 62 so I think that's somewhere around .85x158. I looked on the Internet, and that does seem to be a popular opinion. The problem I have is that I routinely exceed my "max" heart rate for pretty long intervals, and pretty much always exceed 85%. I feel like it wouldn't be a good run if I didn't do that. Any other runners or cardiac experts here? What say you?
I go until it hurts. Some people couldn't hit that number if they tried, others, like me, would blow right through it. Heart rate is good, but perceived exertion is good too.

Formulations for HR max based on age aren’t very good. If you have a monitor, you can self test for your own max. Based on age, mine should be 155. I can hit 150 in a bike race briefly. Can’t imagine 155 and remaining conscious.