Maintaining composite airplane.

goldman

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
goldman
Hi Everyone!

I'm new to composite kits, currently evaluating few kits for purchase. I'm leaning towards Glasair II. I have few basic questions, which bugs me.

So, say the autopilot servo on the composite aircraft failed. What do you do then: cut the area on the wind, replace it, then restore? I assume you are not going to order a new wing from your kit manufacturer?

Glasair folks, how you maintain your airframe over time? What type of issues happen over time with the composite airframe?

Where do you store your aircraft: hangar? on the field?

Thanks! G.

You need to find the forum or forums specific to these great planes. Here you'll get one of two owners, maybe a builder, and a lot of guesses based on third hand 'knowledge'...

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to composite kits, currently evaluating few kits for purchase. I'm leaning towards Glasair II. I have few basic questions, which bugs me.

So, say the autopilot servo on the composite aircraft failed. What do you do then: cut the area on the wind, replace it, then restore? I assume you are not going to order a new wing from your kit manufacturer?

Glasair folks, how you maintain your airframe over time? What type of issues happen over time with the composite airframe?

Where do you store your aircraft: hangar? on the field?

Thanks! G.

You can access the servos through the inspection plates on the bottom of the wing. Not sure how difficult to remove one but they are accessible.

There are no real issues with maintaining the composite structure. The airframe comes coated with a thick gloss gelcoat. Only maintenance necessary is buffing the gelcoat or paint, once it becomes oxidized. Obviously leaving it out in the sun will speed up the oxidation process. Control push pull tubes are all painted or powder coated. At least mine were.