Made my first 180 today

Jaybird180

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Jaybird180
In other threads, I expressed concerns about Airmet Sierra, BRKN layers, a sinus issue and the briefing included warnings about convective activity.

We're in the Hampton area and intended to fly to KFFA then make a decision to continue past to W95 for sightseeing, etc.

After about a 50deg departure from initial heading and cloud dodging, I finally decided to execute a 180 and head back.

Unfortunately :needpics: to help explain, but I saw the makings of a Mayday call of VFR into IMC :nono:. The call from approach of precip 3 miles ahead was the last straw for me.

Yes, I'm a little disappointed, but we live to fly another day. At least I can say that my landing felt like a greaser.

In retrospect, I could have done the 180, went under the clouds and deviated for the -RA. Concerns about crossing the water at low altitude didn't fit my risk profile; I'm still learning to trust this airplane.

1.2 on the Hobbs to go nowhere; at least my wife had a victory. She was able to get a refund on our 'no refund' reservation:wink2: so it's all good.

Maybe well make that trip another time.:yesnod:.
I'm glad that I made the 180 call, but the reality is that I feel slighted, just a teensy teensy bit:)

That's always a safe call, even if it doesn't feel like the right call.