LSA Requirement/Restriction Question

M

Mikey94

Hello all!

Apologies if this is a previously answered question, I am new to the forum/site (and honestly, aviation as a whole).

Essentially, I am newly interested in the MOSAIC rules regarding LSAs, but I know that I cannot pass a 3rd, 2nd, or 1st medical due to my left eye (20/150 corrected, right eye is 20/12 uncorrected). Regarding LSAs, I understand that you must follow all restrictions on your driver's license. My only restriction states "Outside Rearview Mirror: An outside rearview mirror must be affixed to the left side of any vehicle driven by a driver with this restriction."

Does this mean I would need to have a mirror attached to the outside of my LSA? I am extremely new to the idea of LSAs/flying, and it is a lot of information to follow, especially with a special case such as mine. Any information that anyone could provide would be wonderful.

Thank you all!

Regardless of the technicalities - is your eyesight such that you think you won't be able to operate the aircraft in a safe manner?

A medical isn't out of the question; there is a procedure to get a "statement of demonstrated ability" to waive some medical requirements. There have been one eyed pilots, including record setting aviator Wiley Post. It's probably much easier for a class 3 than a class 1 or 2.

Regarding LSA, I can't imaging anybody thinking you need an outside mirror.

Regardless of the technicalities - is your eyesight such that you think you won't be able to operate the aircraft in a safe manner?
Absolutely not. I was born with the vision I listed, and in over ten years of driving multiple types of vehicles (I'm 29-years old), I have never been in any auto collisions, nor received any tickets of any kind. In any vehicles or machinery I operate, I follow the rules exactly as written. :)