LOP Noob...where to start?

Fearless Tower

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Fearless Tower
Hi, my name is Andrew and I'm a LOP Noob.

Okay, so looks like I've got a deal on my next ride: a sweet B55 Baron.

Now, I've read a fair amount on the LOP vs ROP debate and have long considered myself on the LOP side. Only thing is, about 90% of my flying has been with carbureted engines and the few fuel injected planes I have flown had very minimal engine instrumentation.

The Baron has the standard IO-470s with Gami injectors and a JPI EDM 760.

So....any recommendations on where to begin in order to take advantage of my new equipment?

Start with the levers that have red knobs

Search for some John deakin articles as a good starting point.

You just missed an excellent webinar on the subject 2 days ago:

http://www.eaavideo.org/video.aspx?v=2274677932001

I thought I had it pretty well understood then learned some more. The graphs put it all in perspective for me. Hope it's useful for you.

Lots of good information, explanation and advice, as usual, from Mike. There is a tight group of A&Ps that like to bad mouth him here on this forum but, hopefully, you'll find his approach to be well documented and based in solid theory and experience. His seminars at Osh are packed and run over time, for a good reason. He also manages around 1 or more in 10 Cirrus' in the world, among many other aircraft.

PS: plenty more good videos listed below this one.

Last edited:
You have everything you need already. Just get it where you want it in cruise, pull the red knobs back until the EGT peaks, then keep pulling them back until the hottest EGT is about 50F cooler than it's max value. Some fiddling may be required, and you might have to adjust a prop slightly but it really is that simple.

I would start with a 65% power setting until you get comfy cause you can't do any harm at 65% power. Don't dawdle as you lean the engine as you go through peak EGT, just keep pulling.