Looking into PPL

SuperDecathlon

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Casey
I'm 32 years old and grew up flying with my grandpa. I have fond memories of doing rolls, loops, hammer heads, and just flying around. He passed just over a year ago and I realize how much I took it for granted flying around with him. He was very knowledgeable and skilled pilot he did aerobatics, building some of his planes, and I always felt safe. I miss flying around and have decided to look into getting my own pilots license. Unfortunately I didn't take advantage of my grandpa's knowledge when he was alive so other than having flown with him a lot and on occasion taking the controls a little I am very new to this and will have many questions. Figured this would be the place to get established and ask some questions as I progress.

So first question, I know I only need my 3rd class medical, but why not getting 2nd or 1st class? I am in good health and have perfect vision, assuming my insurance will pay for my physical why not get 1st or 2nd class if I'm going to the doctor anyway?

Any helpful tips before I start are greatly appreciated.

My understanding is that the exams dig deeper as you get into the "higher" ones. Since you only need a 3rd class to become a private pilot, what's the reason to get a 1st or 2nd? If you want a more detailed checkup, you can do that separately with your doc, without opening yourself up to more detailed testing in order to fly.

Plus, the 1st and 2nd class medicals expire sooner. They do "step down" after they expire (1st becomes 2nd after 6 months, 2nd becomes 3rd after... a year?), but any perceived benefits from the tougher medicals will be short lived. So you'll have to decide whether you want to take the exams more often or if you'll let your 1st class medical transform down to a 3rd class.

Essentially, without a reason to do otherwise, my (non-expert) opinion would be to get the lowest level required for the flying you intend to do.