Looking for info on Mercy flight for sick sister

KellyEK

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Kelly
Thank you in advance for any info or advice you can send my way...
I have a terminally ill sister who wants to come from South Carolina (Columbia area) to West Michigan to be with her family in her final days. She is stable, but has some weakness on the right side and cognitive issues which makes travelling for a day and a half to get her here a daunting task. She has been in treatment for almost 4 yrs and is currently getting radiation treatments for recently discovered brain metastasis, has been trying to raise a family on disability, and does not have the financial means to get a commercial flight home. She will also be bringing her 14 yr old daughter with her, as well as our mother who flew down there a few weeks ago to be with her when she was discharged from the hospital. I am a hospice nurse and our hospice team will help care for her when she gets here to Michigan, but it's the getting here part I need advice on. My brother in law, who flies a single engine plane, suggested posting on this board and thought I would get some helpful information. We would like to do this in the next couple of weeks. Anything you can suggest would be appreciated.

Take care, I am sure this is a trying time.

You can also try www.angelflightcentral.org or also lifelinepilots.org (Bruce C. who posts here is involved with Lifeline). There are a number of volunteer pilot organizations who will be eager to help you out.

The patient/passenger information may stipulate that a person be unable financially to afford other means. However when folks who are immune compromised or have other considerations that rule out commercial travel -- arranging a compassion flight is straightforward.

If you aren't able to find what you need in short order please PM me and I can help out more directly.