Long Time Lurker with ADD Success Story

Christopher M Bauer

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
cmbauer
I've spent considerable amount of time in the medical portion of this forum and have read about a lot of people's struggles with certification. Specifically, the individuals with an ADD/ADHD diagnosis and the processes that people have gone through with varying results. I thought I would share my story, one with a happy ending to show that there can be light at the end of the tunnel.

By way of background, I am a recreational pilot that has fantasies of possibly flying for a living in one capacity of another. Like a lot of people; life, finances, and work have interfered with obtaining ratings and certificates. I started training for my PPL while on active duty with the Air Force in 2003. I was enlisted and married with children, so even with the reduced rate the Aero Club on base provided, I struggled to afford it. After my first deployment interrupted training I didn't start again till 2015. I had gotten out of the Air Force and was working for a Federal LE agency stationed in New Orleans. I knocked out a couple of lessons before work obligations again put a halt to my training.

A year or two later I discovered that my agency utilized some small aircraft for various purposes and was inspired to start again. I decided I was going to obtain my PPL and attempt to get my employer to finance my Instrument and Commercial. To continue training (at this point I only had 10-15 hours and had not soloed yet) I was told I would need to obtain at least a 3rd Class Medical. And so the saga begins....