Logging PIC Time

t0r0nad0

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
PJ Gustafson
Okay, this topic has been endlessly debated in many forums in the past, and I thought I had a good handle on it, but then I was having a discussion with Ric (colomtnflyer) and Clint (ATCT) one evening and they were insisting that my understanding is incorrect.

Here's the situation - I do a lot of flying with my mentor pilot in his Bonanza, much of the time he allows me to take the controls except for takeoff and landing (for insurance reasons). I am a private pilot, and I do not have my complex or high performance endorsements. I was under the impression that since FAR 61.51 states:

e) Logging pilot-in-command flight time.
(1) A sport, recreational, private, or commercial pilot may log pilot-in-command time only for that flight time during which that person--
(i) Is the sole manipulator of the controls of an aircraft for which the pilot is rated or has privileges;

I would be able to log the time that I am the sole manipulator of the controls since I am rated for ASEL, despite not having a complex and high performance endorsements. Ric and Clint tell me that I am incorrect, and that I need the endorsements to log PIC time. I can log that as total time, and time in type for insurance reasons in the future, but not PIC time that can be used for an additional rating (which really stinks, because I have about 4+ hrs in the past month of X-C PIC time in that plane logged thus far, which I was hoping to use towards my instrument rating).