Log Book Print to Electronic

Ventucky Red

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Jon
Having run out of room on my first log book I have started the process of getting my log into an electronic format... more like an excel spread sheet that I have come up with... I am on page 10 of about 60.... and, yes I am still going to keep the old pen and paper log updated with a new log book.

Ah the memories... I can still feel my instructor and a few other students tearing my Allman Brothers t-shirt off my back... the taste of the burger on my first x-county solo... and the day the DPE said, "kid you're good to go... congratulations..." I am sure some more memories will come up in the next few weeks...

Any one else done this?

I just scanned my paper log and forwarded to totals to my electronic log, trying to copy each entry, nah

Made my own database when I was a student. Only thing in my paper log book for the past 9 years is signatures for flight reviews/IPCs

For what it’s worth, I went from paper in my first log which lasted my first 400ish hrs, to a home brew excel sheet and now to foreflight logs.

Frankly if 400hr me jumped into a Delorian and came to today, I’d say just go straight to foreflight logs, it’s just super smooth and with the record function is great.

I use Pilot Log. Syncs to my iPhone, iPad Pro, iPad Mini and saves a PDF to my DropBox.

I use MyFlightbook free and really quite good. Very responsive to user input. There are a few posts here about it if you search.

I use MyFlightbook. @EricBe is the developer and posts here. It can import from a spreadsheet, which is how I converted from my paper log. Download the blank spreadsheet, fill it in, boom. I now only use the paper log for endorsements and such.

So last night I googled a few of the n-numbers of the initial planes I trained in... Two came back with an NTSB report, two fell off the registry in the mid 90's, and one is in Texas...