Little question on buying a block rate, but mainly just excitement

bigred177

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
bigred
While I was hanging out at KGTU today, I started shooting the bull with one of the flight school owners about how much better low wings are than high wings :aureola: and he started telling me about a guy who has a Cherokee 180 for sale. We went to go talk to him and ended up working out a better deal than I could have imagined. He works for an A&P-IA, is very busy with work/life, and has not had a chance to fly his plane much. He doesn't like sitting there watching it rot but doesn't REALLY want to sell it. So we talked for awhile about it and came up with a block rate I could buy from him so his plane flies and I don't have to own it. We agreed to $45/hr dry, after working the numbers, I don't think I could operate one for less than that even owning it.
The plane has about 900 hrs on the engine and just came out of annual 2 months ago. It sits in a tie down so it's a little weathered but a nice looking plane.
I am pretty sure I am going to start out buying 10 hrs or so, but I was thinking I'd get y'all's opinion on all of it. He is calling his insurance company tomorrow to see about getting me on as an insured, but is there anything I need to do to protect both of us?

You might consider non-owned (renter) aircraft insurance to cover yourself should you do something to the plane and the insurance company decides to subrogate. Depending on how he "gets you on as an insured", it will probably protect his interest in the plane, but won't protect you.