List of things to work on after getting PPL?

wildb

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
wildb
I was wondering if anyone had a list of things to work on after getting your ppl? I just got my ppl and was thinking I should be learning or working on something as I start to fly on my own.

Enjoy it mostly. Keep up to date on new procedures and information. But enjoy it for now!

I'd say learning about weather. I didn't really think of it holistically before I got my cert. It helps to look at weather on a national, regional and then local level. There's lot's of information on weather.gov for example. I'm no expert but I do look at WX different today and I've seen some of it up close and personal, even VFR.

For example, at first rain and showers will keep you on the ground. But with experience, and hopefully a good, conservative pilot friend who understands wx better, you will learn those conditions can be very doable. What you see is a rain cloud doing what it does. To my right was 10+ miles viz and my out. By simply driving around it, I was in the clear in a minute or two.

With much lower hours that would have caused me to freak.

Attachments

• 6.JPG
    6.JPG
    167.1 KB · Views: 23
Crosswind landings and takeoffs.

Go get your CFI and work some simulated emergencies (your 3000 feet AGL and 4 miles from the runway and the engine just quit... Can you confidently deal with the emergency including a dead stick landing? As you took off, one of the main gear tires blew... prove to yourself you can land the plane safely.... Have your CFI get you lost and fail both your GPS and your iPad. Now find your way home or to another suitable runway.)

Find a grass runway and do real soft field operations.

Load the aircraft to near gross takeoff weight and learn the difference in how it handles.

I did this soon after my PPL and really has helped me.