Letting Go...

SCCutler

Administrator
Management Council Member
PoA Supporter
Display Name

Display name:
Spike Cutler
It is funny how we decide to hang on to things, and why.

In my earlier life, before I was a lawyer, I worked first in the field, carrying a toolbag and fixing microfilm equipment for the Bell & Howell Company (which essentially no longer exists). Ultimately, I was lured out to California, at a division HQ for what we called "COM" systems (Computer Output on Microfilm). Somehow, in the process, I became the company expert on what were at the time the best microfilm processors money could buy (again, opinion, but I worked with enough to know that was true).

In the course of all that, I got to be good fiends with the old coot who designed the processors, which were manufactured in Los Angeles, and he convinced me that I should have a cottage business buying, refurbing and selling these processors, so with the assistance of my boss, I did just that. We made some good money at it, too.

Bell & Howell sold us to TRW, and at some point, I decided that I needed to go to law school, so I moved off to Dallas and the processor business moved from my garage in Fullerton to Larry's garage in Westminster. Then Larry (the boss, some of you might recall he and his wife showed up at Gaston's) moved out east, and convinced me to let the moving truck stop by and drop the processor inventory at my house. Oops. That was 1991.

Today, I rolled those beasts out to the curb for pickup by a recycling service- no one wants these anymore, and if I do not get rid of them, my wife will maim me.

Hard to realize that these machines, which sold for $20,000.00+ in the 80's have no value at all, any more. Harder to "let go" of that phase of my life. Good, though, to get the garage space back.