Let's talk crappy old taildraggers...

Any ideas about fuel usage in a stinson? Are we talking about 10gal/hr or 14 or 3?

The 165HP engine is really the only one you want. There is a 150HP engine in the early planes that has thin cases which tend to crack around the cyl barrrels and studs. The 165 Franklin will burn between 8.5-11 in cruise, depending on your power setting and leaning technique. I'd figure 10GPH is a reasonable est.

They are all approved for auto fuel STC, and in my opinion, they like it better than 100LL.

Personally, I wouldn't take a loaded Stinson 108 up over any 10k' passes unless is was very cold, very calm, and I had plenty of spare altitude. They are not the most robust performers. Dream TW to land with the oleo strut main gear, and long tail arm with good rudder and elevator authority. The -3 models aren't as good with the bigger tail because they seem to weathervane a bit more, but I'm no expert in the -3, I just flew the -2 which was my favorite. Pretty planes as well with the grill work and the wheel pants.

http://www.barnstormers.com/listing_images.php?id=956842&ZOOM=e1b20323c6dc4da3897c8115304872f9

YMMV

I have not had a chance to fly one yet, but all of the owners I've talked to love them. There was a gorgeous 108 at the Horn Point fly-in a couple weeks ago.

I suspect you will have an easier time maintaining a Continental or Lycoming one, but I have no experience with Franklins. The 108 that I saw at the fly-in had a Franklin and the owner said he hadn't experienced any challenges keeping it going.

I used to work a -3 with the O-470 towing banners, a very impressive plane with no bad habits to speak of.

The 165HP engine is really the only one you want. There is a 150HP engine in the early planes that has thin cases which tend to crack around the cyl barrrels and studs. The 165 Franklin will burn between 8.5-11 in cruise, depending on your power setting and leaning technique. I'd figure 10GPH is a reasonable est.