Lesson Learned: Dont try to cut tempered glass

ajstoner21

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Andrew
I was going to put this in the Lesson Learned forum, but since its not aviation related at all, I thought it might go better here.

I almost feel stupid now, after the fact :mad2:, but wow was that scary/cool.

I was at a friends house this afternoon. He has a ton of wood working equipment and was teaching me about the art of wood working. We were just fooling around, and decided to make a picture frame. Nothing complicated really, just some 45 degree cuts, and some wood glue.

We had this nice little frame put together and now needed a piece of glass. He had an old sliding glass door, that was apparently tempered (apparently our common sense was sleeping....). We were going to cut a piece of it to use in the picture frame. He had a neat little glass cutting tool. I have ZERO experience cutting any form of glass, which became very very obvious at this point. Neither did my buddy. Hindsight, should have used more common sense and tried to google it. This tool was like cutting drywall. In theory, you score it, and it'll snap in a nice clean line. Absolutely not so with tempered glass.

We scored both sides of this piece of glass, and could not get it to break at all. (We were both wearing goggles/gloves, safety equipment). He took a hammer and hit it a few times, and this glass did not break at all. He took a tile cutting blade, put it on a circular saw, and tried to cut it. It was starting to cut the glass. He stopped, and we just stood there looking at it.