Legality Question RE: Commercial ops and tax deductions

sferguson524

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
FormerSocalFlyer
So, hypothetical situation, I am an officer of a business, and the business owns an airplane for the bonus depreciation and tax bennies. I am an instrument rated private pilot. My business flying is tax deductible for the business. Is my currency flying also tax deductible for the business as I would be doing my flying in furtherance of said business?

So, hypothetical situation, I am an officer of a business, and the business owns an airplane for the bonus depreciation and tax bennies. I am an instrument rated private pilot. My business flying is tax deductible for the business. Is my currency flying also tax deductible for the business as I would be doing my flying in furtherance of said business?

I would consider that education and safety training, but would make sure to keep a VERY good record of it...getting advanced ratings doesn't usually count unless your job requires that specific rating or you're personally trying to get another job (not a business deduction, personal one).

However, what % is actual business use and what is personal...the way you describe it is you aren't really using the airplane for business use, just have it there for depreciation...

If you are a liberal,,, you will get away with it.. Just consult Harry Reid..

A conservative will go to jail...:eek:

.. Jus kiddin....

My guess is if the flying is for the business, then it is deductable... YMMV.

The answer was in an email to Lois Lerner.

If you are a liberal,,, you will get away with it.. Just consult Harry Reid..

A conservative will go to jail...:eek:

.. Jus kiddin....

My guess is if the flying is for the business, then it is deductable... YMMV.

You're killing me.. Let's keep it out of the spin zone. But i agree completely

If you can document the business use of your airplane then those deductions are fine.