Left turns..is that a good idea?

eman1200

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Bro do you even lift
in 2019 there were over 10,000 accidents after making a left turn in north carolina alone (categorized as ‘improper turn’). even if you put your blinker on, do you feel safe making left turns? what is the DOT doing to prevent this? some people turn faster than others, I think something should be done about this. I’ve had my drivers license for 8 days now.

No left turns. Only rights and u-turns, or jug-handles, or Michigan lefts, or whatever you want to call them.

I'm also a new pilot (greener than green, not even a PPL).
Perhaps good faith discussions should be entertained when a newbie is asking about recent fatal accidents instead of making fun of them. Just a thought. Feel free to berate me and my lack of experience as needed.

Edit - in a lot of places roundabouts are being installed as a safer alternative to deadly intersections, btw

There is a special place in the "bad place" for drivers who turn left, even when there is a lot of traffic. I'm glad to work around left turners, people with their hazards on, and an occasional ambulance or car with stalled engine who is trying to limp through the intersection and turn into the Buc-ee's before the light changes.

But the BMWs, the RAM trucks, and dare I say, Tesla drivers who can't be bothered to just go straight are annoying.

Am I doing this right? :p

in 2019 there were over 10,000 accidents after making a left turn in north carolina alone (categorized as ‘improper turn’). even if you put your blinker on, do you feel safe making left turns?
Turns are dangerous period. After a few years you learn that some left turns are safer than others based on road conditions and geometry. Lefts are hazardous to drivers while rights present special hazards to pedestrians.

what is the DOT doing to prevent this?
In CA most intersections with visibility issues have turn arrows or don't allow turns.