Learning To Fly - #1. Steal Airplane

Has a student pilot license, works for the banner company, and is "allowed to fly planes when he is testing them"?

As a student I thought you needed CFI sign offs for each solo flight. In any case, this could be anything from a misunderstanding on his part to a royal drunken screw up. So far, it seems more the latter. I don't feel optimistic about him finishing up his PPL but that might be the least of his problems. I hope he has a good lawyer and a forgiving stepmother. Grand theft airplane probably comes with prison time.

My guess is stepmother who says he can fly while testing planes with out a license only declared the plane stolen and is hanging step son out to dry to protect the company.

Has a student pilot license, works for the banner company, and is "allowed to fly planes when he is testing them"?

Pretty sure the writer screwed that up. Now that I think of it, finding an article about aviation without significant errors is pretty tough.

Pretty sure the writer screwed that up. Now that I think of it, finding an article about aviation without significant errors is pretty tough.

You're probably right. Big distinction between permission to take out the plane by its owner, and authorization to fly solo under FAA rules whilst a student pilot. Anyone writing that who had clue would have clarified that. I sure hope the student pilot himself didn't mistake stepmom's permission as sufficient.

As a student I thought you needed CFI sign offs for each solo flight.

Cross country solo flights yes, but local flights no. However I always make sure I'm aware if one of mine is up for a local flight so I can check the weather, etc.

That is why you should only get your aviation news from PoA. Always completely accurate, fact checked, fair & balanced, no fake news. ;)

I find this somehow ridiculously fascinating...