Lean for taxi

asechrest

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
asechrest
For those who don't know, I'm a newly minted private pilot.

For most of my training, my flight school had us lean for taxi. For the later part of my training, school policy suddenly changed to no leaning for taxi. Following this change, I had my first instances of rough-running during mag checks. I asked why the change in policy, but wasn't given a clear answer.

My belief is that a lot of you lean for taxi to prevent spark plug fouling. Now that I'm on my own, I think I'm going to switch back to leaning for tax.

Are there pros/cons here that I should consider? A big con I assume is failing to go full rich for takeoff. But I've got that on my checklist and on my lights-camera-action check.

Both major engines in service will benefit from leaning as lean as it will operate at all throttle settings and altitudes.

Both major engines in service will benefit from leaning as lean as it will operate at all throttle settings and altitudes.

Thanks. Thoughts on why my school suddenly changed policy? My instructor seemed perplexed about the change. Something as simple as they had students forgetting to go full rich for takeoff, maybe?

That seems really odd.

An effective way to keep from taking off lean is to lean aggressively for taxi. Cram the throttle for takeoff and it will really let you know.

That seems really odd.
I thought so. Are there any maintenance-related issues with aggressive leaning? My school was first a maintenance business before branching out into flight training, but I've not heard of any issues in that regard with leaning for taxi.

For those who don't know, I'm a newly minted private pilot.