Landing the Airplane

Johnc3640

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
johnc3640
I am a student pilot struggling with consistently landing the airplane so I thought I would attempt to obtain a fresh/different view of what I am doing vs what I should be doing. First, basic info, plane Piper Archer, v speeds 85 downwind, 75 base, 65 final - patern altitude 1800.

I seem to be able to consistently "fly the plane to the numbers" - generally it does not seem that I have to make at lot of pitch adjustments on final - I would describe the final as "a gentle glide to the numbers" with minimal pitch adjustments and gradual power reductions. Question 1 on a normal day (not windy) what speed should I cross threshold? Should I maintain 65 knots on final or should I be slowing slightly and crossing closer to 60 knots? Should I have much
, if any, power crossing the threshold or should the airplane be at idle? If I am fast on final, is it OK to "pitch up" slightly (i.e. reduce the decent rate) slow up and then regain the proper glide slope? "Pitch for speed power for altitude"???, but I have been told to "maintain the glide slope on final!!!". If I have the proper decent angle and power settings no "pitch" adjustment is necessary.