Landing Priority: IFR or VFR?

Tommy3

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Tom
Hi everyone--I'm a Private Pilot now, but I've got a question from my Student Pilot days that I've always been curious about.

So I'm flying solo at my non-towered airport, doing pattern work. Midfield downwind I get a radio call on the CTAF from an IFR airplane flying straight in to land. I see him and it seems to me like I'm going to be landing first. I let him know where I am in my pattern, make radio calls turning to base, turning final. No complaints, everything normal.

I land but am still on the runway when he's on short final so he does a go-around. That all seems correct except that he gets on the CTAF and is not pleased that I landed in front of him and lets everyone know it.

Now, from my perspective, the field is VFR and we're all in this nice little pattern and homeboy can't just do a straight-in and get in everyone's way, but I'm not sure about that. Is it correct? Ideally, shouldn't he join the downwind on a 45 just like everyone else? Or do we all have to defer to landing IFR traffic? Thanks!

IFR traffic doesn't have priority or any bearing whatsoever (contrary to what they may believe.)

You could have told Mr. IFR to stick it up his IMC where the sun don't shine.

Last edited:
Normal right of way rules apply (who was lower?).

I know the "who is lower" may be the correct answer, but I hate it.
To prove a point I may be 2nm out on a long final in my 85knt Pawnee at 500ft AGL when I call "Final" for the runway. (There is no need for a Pawnee to be above 500ft unless he has a glider on tow for altitude.)

So, I'm 2nm out on final at 500ft, two other aircraft on downwind at 800-1000 AGL. To bad so sad, they both could easily land before I get there with no issues. But I'm lower and called final, so the runway is mine! :yikes:

B.S and some more Double B.S. :mad2: