Landing in the rain

Rneuwirth

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Rneuwirth
I'm set for my Private Pilot check-ride on Sept 30th. Today, had to work. At work, looking out the window at grey overcast skies and rain. Light bulb goes on!
Got a co-worker to cover for a couple of hours, and after getting my CFI's blessing, headed to the airport.
Skies overcast at 1500ft agl, variable winds and light to moderate rain. Did 10 touch and goes, all with some crosswind.
I'm happy that I finally got to fly and land in the rain.
Not a bad day at work!!

Awesome! As a student pilot, I flew in light snow flurries once, and as a private, flew in light rain.

But never landed in either.

If you get the chance..... land on a snow dusted runway. Every landing is a greaser!
Preferably a LONG, snow dusted runway though.........

If you get the chance..... land on a snow dusted runway. Every landing is a greaser!

In January I went up to Waskaganish, QC (CYKQ) in the 310 (yeah, I know, why would anyone go that far north in January?). They'd had freezing rain recently and a dusting of snow - so the 3500 ft runway was covered in ice with a dusting of snow on top of it.

Made for a nice greaser landing, but I came in pretty slow for obvious reasons. Had no problems stopping in time.

Made for a nice greaser landing, but I came in pretty slow for obvious reasons. Had no problems stopping in time.

Ted, the Ice Runway at Alton Bay NH is about 2,300 feet long. That is plenty long for those who land there.

Early airplanes had no brakes. They stopped on short strips without issues. Well, most of the time! :wink2:

-Skip

I like flying in the rain. Lots less airplane scrubbing to do later on the ground.

Ted, the Ice Runway at Alton Bay NH is about 2,300 feet long. That is plenty long for those who land there.

True, but I wouldn't try to land the 310 on a 2300 ft strip if everything was perfect. My personal minimum on that plane is 2700 ft.