Landing an Archer

Radio Flyer

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Radio Flyer
I've been training in a Liberty XL2. Last week, I transitioned to an Archer to complete my training. One of the things I noticed was that when I trimmed for landing speed in the Archer, when the time came to flare, it seemed very difficult to get the nose up. I am assuming that I trimmed the nose too low and that was what made it hard to pull back on the yoke enough to land on the mains first. It felt like I really had to fight it.

Since I'm still a rather low-time student, my question is: is it possible to trim too much? Any advice on how best to trim for proper airspeed but not trim so much that I have to fight the plane to land it?

On final it can seem deceiving how much you have to crank the trim a Pa-28.

Be sure and trim on final so the nose does not drop at all, it should hold approach attitude without any back pressure on the yoke. When you flare additions of back pressure will still be needed to start and maintain the flare. Be sure to keep "flying" the plane even after the mains touch...you can really roll them on nice.

If you do this right it will feel like you put in ton of trim...but if you check the trim position indicator you should be around neutral (they all differ some).

Last edited:
Most of the Cherokee line end up pretty nose heavy with just the front seats occupied.

If you trimmed for your approach speed, then you did it right. Buck up and build some muscles. You never want to trim so much you have to push down on final. You run the risk of getting distracted and reducing forward pressure which will make the plane slow down.

Most of the Cherokee line end up pretty nose heavy with just the front seats occupied.

If you trimmed for your approach speed, then you did it right. Buck up and build some muscles.

Been working out every day :D