Landed and went off runway

U

Unregistered

Background: I'm a student and was doing some solo work and on one of my landings, I landed the 172 a bit fast and a bit side-loaded. I felt that the plane was too unstable for me to step on the opposite rudder and that if I did that, the plane might loop around and/or flip, so I decided to let the plane lose speed without too many control inputs to cause it to be even more unstable. Since it was side-loaded (and not going straight), it went right off the runway and into the grass. Neither the plane nor I were hurt, which was pure luck.

Obviously I'd like to learn from this experience. I have some ideas of what I did and what I could have done differently, but I'm looking for more input.

Please do not be too cruel, I feel badly enough about this.

No reason for anyone to be ugly about it - there is a reason why these things are called "accidents," and as long as you learn from it, well, no harm, no foul.

It is difficult to analyze from your description, but you should never stop flying the plane; even if you feel like you cannot gather it up enough to keep on the pavement, you should try to make sure that, wherever you go, you do so under as much positive control as you can muster.

Of perhaps greater importance, never forget that, if you are landing and feel like the transition to controlled ground operation is not going properly, cram in the throttle and go around. From your description, it surely sounds like this might have been an option.

Lastly, describe what happened to your instructor and have him/her work through it with you- you may be able to identify some modest changes in your technique which would make a repeat excursion less likely.

Don't let it get you down - we are all learning!