KMA24 Upgrade Path

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Rob58, Apr 14, 2019.

  1. Rob58

    Rob58 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    167
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rob
    Are there any newer audio panels that are slide-in compatible with the older KMA24 unit?
     
  2. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    22,029
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Yes - PS Engineering's PMA7000 series.

    PS Engineering makes fantastic audio panels. Highly recommend them.
     
  3. NealRomeoGolf

    NealRomeoGolf Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Illinois / Germany
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NRG
    As @flyingcheesehead said, the PMA7000 does. I replaced my KMA24 a few years ago with a PMA7000B. It is awesome.
     
  4. aggie06

    aggie06 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Dallas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Aggie
    What if I have a couple KMA24H audio panels instead of just one? Any ideas there?
     
  5. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    22,029
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Two PMA7000s? :dunno:
     
  6. mscheuer

    mscheuer Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    mscheuer
    Our PAC24 is a direct slide in replacement for the KMA24H series 71 and you can install two of our PAC24 and eliminate strange states of operation of dual KMA24H because the PAC24 talk with each other over a digital bus.
     
  7. NealRomeoGolf

    NealRomeoGolf Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Illinois / Germany
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NRG
    How many places do you need on the intercom?
     
  8. aggie06

    aggie06 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Dallas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Aggie
    For my KMA 24Hs I just have 4 places. It’s an odd FBI surveillance setup where the right seater has his own panel. The back seater can also plug into the panel via a cannon plug in his arm rest and pipe things through COM4/COM5 and also record everything through the recorder jack. Interesting setup that allowed them to take other govt agencies up and plug in their own com and surveillance systems. Not terribly useful for me though.

    I’m starting to think tearing it all out and starting over with one panel may be the cheaper/smarter option.
     
  9. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    16,098
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    I replaced my KMA24 with a Garmin and regretted it. Garmin's service attitude is reprehensible towards such things. I wish I'd gone with the PS engineering, but they were having problems right at the time I was installing.