Kidney Disease denied for First class medical. Corporate Flying?

JustinB57

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
JustinB57
Hi everyone,

This is my first post here and I have a few questions. I'm brand new to aviation and I was very interested in becoming an airline pilot, but unfortunately it looks like that might not be possible.

In August of 2018 I went to a local AME and he looked over my records, and he noticed I had kidney disease which was re-diagnosed as IGA Nephropathy a few years back. I knew this would result in my medical being deferred to the FAA. My AME recommended that I try to get a First class medical right off the bat to see if there would be any issues. Looking at my medical history he was very certain I would have no issue getting a First class medical. After waiting for months, providing more information about a concussion in my past, and finally getting my medical, I was denied from a First class medical and was only issued a Second class special issuance medical to my surprise.

My questions are as follows:
1. Is there any way to appeal this decision and should I try talking to my AME about being denied?
2. If there is absolutely no way I can get a First class medical, what are my options like? I am still interested in corporate flying, but looking at some job boards it looks like most corporate jobs still want a First class medical.
3.Will I be able to find a corporate pilot job with a Second class medical?

Thanks!

One of the best folks to answer this question are Dr. Bruce Chien (@bbchien) and Dr. Lou Fowler (@lbfjrmd), both members here and both highly experienced Senior AME's specializing in challenging cases.

I would make sure to communicate with one of them to get the right answer, as those of us non-AME's that participate the forum can provide information, but it might not be the full picture you are asking for.

To answer your questions directly: