Keeping a Red Dragon Lit

buzzard86

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Jim R
I'm stuck on a tie down in the NE and have a Red Dragon that I use as a backup preheater (I have Reiff cylinder band and oil sump heater that I use primarily).

I've had a persistent issue with the Red Dragon not staying lit when I release the primer. In years prior, I used to return it to the factory every other season for their reasonably-priced tune up, but they have since stopped making and supporting the airplane preheaters.

I rarely use it but would like to have it functioning if necessary. I speculate that the issue is with the thermocouple, but I've tried cleaning and reinstalling with no success. Anybody have other tricks or ways to bypass the thermocouple all together?

Thanks.

Jim

caveat: I'm no expert on small-engine repairs.

Why would you suspect the termocouple when it dies after you release primer?

Wouldn't it be more likely to be a problem with fuel flow?

Not an expert here either, but I had the same problem in the past and it was thermocouple related. It works fine with the primer depressed, which by bypasses the thermocouple. Sanding the thermocouple contacts had worked in the past, but no joy this time around.

It could be the thermocouple or it could be the valve that the thermocouple activates. Does the heater have an electronic control, or is the thermocouple wired directly to the valve? You could check for voltage from the thermocouple, it's some level of millivolts depending on the thermocouple type. If it goes straight to the valve, it's more likely a "thermopile", which is essentially a bunch of thermocouples wired together to generate enough voltage to operate the valve.

Donno about this model, but pre-heaters typically more closely resemble a furnace than an engine. I would also immediately suspect the thermocouple.