Just got off the phone with Congressman

EdFred

Taxi to Parking
Display Name

Display name:
White Chocolate
I just got off the phone with my Congressman's office. Lucky for me he sits on the Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure and on the aviation subcommitte. I called to talk to the person who deals with that in his office, and was told he was in a meeting, and would I like his voice mail. Sure, I can do that. So I leave a message for Matt Reifer stating that I am an airport manager, commercial pilot, flight instructor, and aircraft owner, and had some concerns over the proposal to change the FAA funding. I stated that maybe I would bring up some points that might not have been thought of, and even if they were, I think they need to be reinforced. I left my number, and expected a call in the next week or so. I was wrong. About thirty minutes later, I get a call back from Matt, and we had a great conversation. Serious, but light hearted with a couple laughs about the system and airlines.

(This is the second time I had to type this out, so I am not going into as much detail as I did the fist time typing it.)

1. Raising taxes or adding fees will not generate more revenue. I've talked to a lot of pilots, and they said they would just leave aviation and take up boating or something else. You can't collect taxes and fees if they aren't in the system.
  2. The proposal wants to make taxes on General Aviation fuel almost a dollar a gallon, while keeping the fuel for commercial craft at around five cents. If they want to talk about paying a fair share, I think we are already doing that with the current rates, especially since...