Jim's First Solo!

LDJones

Touchdown! Greaser!
Gone West
Display Name

Display name:
Jonesy
I've been working with Jim for several months. He opted to learn in the Jabiru 170 Light Sport even though he's going for a Private Pilot, not Light Sport. I told him up front that the Jabiru was more challenging to get to the solo point than our Cherokee 140, but that when he got there he'd be a better pilot. The Jab flies more like a taildragger in that you HAVE to know how to use your feet to fly it well. It's quite unforgiving of sloppiness.

Two lessons ago he confided that he was about to admit defeat and accept the fact that he'd never master the Jabiru. I, on the other hand, saw the incremental progress...even though it seemed painfully slow at times. But then something "clicked" and suddenly the sight-picture was there, the "feel" was there and he was nailing landing after landing on our last flight. So I told him, "Get that pre-solo test done!" (He'd been procrastinating on it for awhile, knowing he wasn't close to solo.)

Tonight he arrived to build on the success of our last flight, with the hope that later this week he MIGHT actually solo since the presolo test was done and we had a chance to discuss it. It was a gorgeous evening at KFCM with no wind and cool temps. His flying was spot on. As we flew we reviewed all we'd been through. He did forward slips (perfectly!), we had a baby crawl out onto the runway necessitating a go-around. We even lost an engine downwind and had to make an emergency landing. All done within the PTS.

At one point he even said, "I'm going to get this!" As we flew we talked about his work schedule this week (he's headed out of town tomorrow) and the possibility of soloing later in the week when he returns..."if he was ready, of course." :)