J20 to Orlando

Dave Siciliano

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Dave Siciliano
Was flight planning from KADS (Addison--D/FW area) to Orlando, KISM. There is a DP from Addison to J20 which goes to Orlando. Trouble is, there is no transition from J20 to the STAR (Leese One arrival). Don't think I've ever seen this. Usually, there is a way to get from the Airway to the Arrival--a VOR is the norm. Here, J20 goes straigt to MCO. Last VOR on J20 before MCO is SZW (Seminole) which is quite a way off. Arrival has Valdosta, Ocala, Alma and Savannah: none of which show on the arrival.

Of course, I will file the jet route to Seminole, direct Ocala and leese One, but that's not what the STAR is supposed to to.

So, I call Orlando TRACON and talk through it with the controller. (As an asside, I call Tampa St. Pete FSS to get Approaces number and they tell me the number is restricted. I ask what they mean and she says I don't know, but I can't give it to you. I tell her I'm a pilot flying that route tomorrow and how to I talk to them. She says I have to call during admin hours and use the admin number. Anyway, she calls them and asks them if she can give a pilot the number and they approve--Oh the new world of private FSS!!)

I get the controller and we chat a bit while he tried to understand the issue. Then I get the Wow! There's no VOR on J20 that is on Leese One! Gooooooolllllie! So he suggests I file as I intended to above.

So give me some perspective here guys. Is this how the STAR is supposed to work? Never seen it before.

Best,

Dave

Dave,

I don't think it's a problem. While there may be no STAR fix on the airway, you can go direct from a VOR on the airway to OCF. It's a relatively short distance and you'll be high enough to hear it.

Alternatively, they have a different preferred routing into Orlando that bypasses J20.

I'd file it the way you plan to.

wsuffa said:
Dave,