Is this fair?

MultiMediaWill

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Will
I am looking at the rental requirements for a flight school nearby. As a private pilot I am hoping to rent their Cessna 172, but they have a really high "renters insurance" requirement.

Their website lists these requirements:
ScreenShot2013-03-18at75039PM_zps8a7f9ea9.png

#2 says they want 1Mil Liability and 50K aircraft damage. Well looking at AOPA that would cost me $820 a year just for insurance.

ScreenShot2013-03-18at75421PM_zps95f69bde.png

Do you think that is fair? I haven't been able to rationalize renting from them because I don't think $820 a year is worth it to rent one airplane. The other flight school I rent from has a monthly fee of $30 but they cover insurance.

Nobody is forcing you to to do this.
However, be sure the "other flight school" you rent from has a nonsubrogation clause against it's students. THAT IS EXTREMELY RARE. So there, if you bust up an airplane, the school gets paid off by the insurance company, and then the company comes after you. Now what do you do for $30? You wish you had paid for the $820 no matter which school you go to....

Yes, it's fair. Of course, you don't have to rent from them if you don't like it.

I used to carry that much hull when I was renting from various places or flying others' planes ... Not because it was explicitly required, just seemed like a good idea to cover my ass

I've never rented a plane that required renters insurance; it was always included in the price. If they rent for less since you provide insurance, I guess it's fair. 50K/1M is pretty standard I believe. Check other carriers and see if you can get it for a lower price.

As others have said.
If you don't like it, speak with your money and go someplace else.
Pretty simple really.