Is my training going TOO fast?

TheCowGod

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
TheCowGod
Hey guys. I'm a student pilot, and based on my instructor's comments it sounds like I've been making pretty fast progress. I soloed at 9.1 hours, and now with 15 hours in my logbook, I've done dual cross-country, some intro to hood work, flew into a class B airport, night flight with unusual attitudes, and on Monday if the weather allows I'll be doing a dual night cross country. I'm loving the way I keep getting to discover new aspects of flight, but I definitely wouldn't say I've *mastered* any of the things we've covered. I assume that soon my training will transition from this "introducing me to new concepts" phase into something more routine where I just practice and practice and practice everything. After all, I've still got at least 25 hours to fill before I even reach the 40-hour minimum, and of course I don't expect to be ready for my checkride as soon as I hit 40 hours.

I'd be all too happy to take credit for my fast progress (I've been in love with aviation since I was a little kid, and I've been messing around with flight simulators and reading aviation magazines for the last 15 years or so, so I could see how that could help), but I suspect that a big part of it is that my instructor is choosing to give me brief exposure to each concept before coming back and reviewing them in more detail. Is that how flight training usually works? Or is it more common to focus on one thing repeatedly before moving on to the next concept?

You nmay be moving "fast" now but that is not the point. AT sometime you will be at the level to be a PP-ASEL, it is then that you will take your checkride. At some point we all catch up with each other. I imagine that oyu will be doing a lot of practice things soon just to build hours. As long as your CFI is not reintroducing things every flight I think you are probably ok.