iPhone 6+ or iPad?

manlymatt83

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Matt
As a student pilot, I'm just getting introduced to things like Fore Flight, etc. However, it's time for a phone upgrade for me, and I'm trying to decide what I'd like to do. I'm either thinking that I'll get the iPhone 6+ and use that for everything (flight "iPad" plus my regular phone), or perhaps just get the normal iPhone 6 and grab an iPad Air for flying. Any suggestions/ideas? I don't really have use for an iPad outside flying.

Any recommendations would be helpful!

I use a note3. For flying. I'm sure the 6+ would be sufficient for a student but most flight schools and academies require Ipads now so that might be a better option.

The Iphone app is slightly different and does not have the full functionality and interface that the Ipad app has. Phone works great as a backup and flight planning but if you are gonna use Foreflight for inflight use, I would want an Ipad without question.

The 6+ is too big for day to day use in my opinion. I use the 6 and Ipad Mini...and typically only use the Ipad for flying as well and it was well worth the investment.

The 6+ is big enough to be useful in the plane. But my wife had one and returned it. The thing is just so big to use as a phone.

IPad mini retina with cellular (for the GPS chip).

My girl has a 6+, I'm not a fan! It's a little small to use it for flying and it's too large to carry as a cell phone. If she doesn't have her purse on her she carries it by hand as it won't fit in her jeans, translates to I wedge it into one of my pockets.

But as a student pilot I wouldn't buy one yet, or even fly with one.

Same logic as sending your elementary school kid to math class with a calculator.

Last edited:
Ipad Mini with retina display, along with an iPhone 6 is the combo that's worked well for me. Full size ipad is too big in the cockpit, and the 6+ is too big to be a functional phone.