IO-390 Hot start

jkgoblue

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
John K.
I've been flying my Sportsman for about 3 months now and am looking for some tips on hot starting my IO-390. I've been basically doing it with very little throttle and no primer or fuel pump which seems to work fine (it fights it, but eventually starts) but runs rough afterward for a while.

Does anyone know a proven technique for a hot start on this engine? I've checked the Lycoming site and found that they suggest keeping the fuel pump on during "hot weather, hot engine ground operation where fuel vapor problems cause erratic engine operation" so I already know one thing I'm doing wrong. However, I could not find a specific hot start procedure.

There is a flooded start procedure which states "If there is flooding of the engine without a fire, the operator should open the throttle full and close the mixture; (see Operator’s Handbook on mixture) turn the engine over several times with the starter to clear it; then begin again with a normal start routine "

The Sportsman manual also states for a flooded start "Allow all the fuel to drain from the intake system before attempting to start a flooded engine then:

1) Open the throttle fully
2) Set mixture full lean
3) Engage starter. When engine fires, advance the mixture control and move the throttle to the desired setting."

I guess the only way to know that the fuel has drained from the intake system is to wait. (?)

I just was wondering if others had proven methods that work and don't hurt the engine.

Thanks.

The Sportsman manual also states for a flooded start "Allow all the fuel to drain from the intake system before attempting to start a flooded engine then:

1) Open the throttle fully
2) Set mixture full lean
3) Engage starter. When engine fires, advance the mixture control and move the throttle to the desired setting."
I have found that this works pretty well for a hot IO-360 as well. Keep the fuel pump OFF.