Intro thread

smoore

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Sean Moore
Hi all. I'm a wannabe pilot who is currently weighing options. I flew for about 20 hours in HS 20 years ago but then discovered girls and cars immediately after solo. I no longer have my logbook and wouldn't trust memory to count those hours towards anything useful anyway. At least I know I am capable and enjoy the activity.

I'm blue-collar and never thought I'd be able to fly much... until I discovered homebuilts. Barring some radical change of thinking I'm planning on building a Sonex and getting my primary powered flight training in it. I may have to travel to find an instructor but plan on attending the local EAA meeting one of these months. Alas, this month isn't going to happen either because it's the only weekend we can go camping with the kids... I wish the meetings were during the week instead of Sat.

As for now I plan on getting a glider rating and renting sailplanes for recreation. From looking at the Boulder Soaring Society webpage it would appear I can get four or five flights for under $200/mo. That's not too shabby!

Anyhoo, hi again. I've enjoyed reading the posts this past weekend. I probably won't post all that much but like living vicariously through you folks.

Welcome and look for Tony C if you want to know about soaring. He is the resident "expert" about it.

Welcome aboard!

I don't know where you live, but perhaps there's more than one EAA chapter in the area; another might work better with your schedule.

And if you're going to build the plane before you learn how to fly, it might be quite a long while! I'd recommend at least making sure that you can still pass the FAA physical before you sink that much time & energy into it! You might also talk to the local EAA members to make sure you can find an instructor willing to teach in your homebuilt. You know you like flying from you time 20 years ago, so that isn't a problem.