Interpolating winds aloft HELP!!

Nathan Reim

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
nreim1
Hey guys, I am a student pilot, I am working on my light sport license and I cant seem to find anything solid that explains how to interpolate winds aloft... I know its out there but even my study material lacks any answers. So I am planning a flight tomorrow I will being flying at 150 True Course from KLHZ to KGWW at an altitude of 5500 feet. Winds Aloft will change from now and when I take off tomorrow, I know ill have to do this again, that's alright as long as I can figure out how to do this.
Here is the info for both my flights as well as the current report for WAF. These are DIRECT flights
KLHZ - KGWW True Course 150° 9° magnetic variation =141° Alt- 5500
KGWW - KLHZ True Course 333° 9° magnetic variation = 342° Alt- 4500
How do I interpolate the winds at 5500 and 4500 effectively? By hand not using foreflight or anything else.

FT 3000 6000 9000

RDU 3210 3113+12 3215+03

Last edited:
Why does your magnetic variation flip between the two legs?

Why does your magnetic variation flip between the two legs?
Does your Magnetic variation not flip if you are heading east or west? I though, say in this case i have a MV of 9 going east I though It was -9° or going in a westerly direction it was +9°. AM I wrong?

Does your Magnetic variation not flip if you are heading east or west? I though, say in this case i have a MV of 9 going east I though It was -9° or going in a westerly direction it was +9°. AM I wrong?

Magnetic variation doesn't care where you are going. It only depends on where you are.
You should probably have a little discussion with your CFI about this.

Magnetic variation doesn't care where you are going. It only depends on where you are.
You should probably have a little discussion with your CFI about this.