Internet

Chivon<-((—{

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Chivon<-(—{
I have not done a lot of research on the subject yet… But I thought I would start here… when my husband is flying, we have Internet service until about 3000 feet generously. All of our planes are small planes… I’m not talking jets… I am wondering if there is someway to have Internet while we are flying… That isn’t some insanely expensive endeavor. It would be nice if it was mobile because we have at the moment, five different planes… From a two seater Cessna, to the largest Piper Lance. It would be so nice on Long flights, when we are flying four to six hours if my family could stay connected. I wasn’t quite sure where to post this… And if there’s a better spot, please let me know! I am very new to this…

I don’t think it’s legal to use cellular in the air because it switches towers so much. It may not be the case, but that is what I heard. There are systems to give you internet in the air, but they are very expensive.

That Iridium device is nice, but it won’t come close to being internet browsing friendly will all the media heavy websites these days.

speeds of up to 22 Kbps and receive speeds of 88 Kbps and allows users to make phone calls through its built-in speaker or smartphone app, send texts, browse the internet, scroll social media, send and receive email, and more.

I don’t think it’s legal to use cellular in the air because it switches towers so much. It may not be the case, but that is what I heard. There are systems to give you internet in the air, but they are very expensive.

Somewhat depends on how you define "legal". The article says the FCC prohibits it, but provides no details on how that would be enforced, or what penalties might be applied.

But let's be honest with ourselves. At any given time, there are thousands of airborne cell phones not in airplane mode.