Intermittent transmit issue - both radios

SunnyBeach

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
SunnyBeach
Hi all. Looking for suggestions here on an intermittent transmit problem with my radios.

First off - I'm very new to all this. I have a 63 Cherokee 180 I purchased in March. Everything has worked really well with it. I had its annual done in November - no real issues - tires/brakes, that kind of thing. It has a KM24 audio panel, a KX 155 with GS, and a KX 170B w/208.

About a month later, I experienced a transmit problem with my radio stack. I can receive just fine, but nothing is heard when I transmit, regardless of which radio I use. I tested both pilot and co-pilot jacks. I tested with different headsets. Nothing.

Had some trouble arranging getting it looked at. Finally arranged to take it over to another FBO. Of course, when I did that, it was transmitting fine. And continued to for the next flight or so. Next time I went out, same transmit problem.

I'm headed back to the shop, but I'm wondering if you guys have any suggestions where to start looking. This feels like one of those elusive issues that could haunt me for a long time.

Thanks!

I had that issue when I bought our current plane.

Fortunately, I knew I had a total avionics replacement happening shortly after purchase, including the audio panel. My slash-and-burn approach "fixed" it. Haha.

Since it's happening to both, I suspect it's a loose connection between the ptt or mic and the audio panel, imho. You have to look at the part of the circuit that's common to both radios, not unique to each, and that means pre-audio panel.

Since it's happening to both, I suspect it's a loose connection between the ptt or mic and the audio panel, imho. You have to look at the part of the circuit that's common to both radios, not unique to each, and that means pre-audio panel.
That right there. The push-to-talk circuit is the most likely suspect. The switch itself might be bad.