Insurance as a member of a club

AggieMike88

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
Is there any wisdom about obtaining/holding non-owner insurance (hull and/or liability) when a member of a flying club?

A well established club I am checking out does have appropriate insurance. But I was wondering if an additional layer would make sense to protect me, my personal assets and my business assets.

Mike,

Really depends on exactly what coverage is extended to you as a member of the club.

In your position as a business owner, I'd think you might have a bit more on the line than many folks. Suggest that talking to your pros (lawyer and insurance agent) would be a good place to start - the question (to me) is how exposed you are if your negligence sets you up for a liability claim while operating the club airplane. I'm not sure you're any more exposed than you are driving your car - you could run over some little kids driving. But you may have more coverage for that liability than you would flying.

Good luck.

I carry a small policy from AVEMCO JIC. The club has good insurance but for piece of mind, it was worth the expense to me. I figure even if is not my fault like a ground incident, having some protection might eliminate some headaches.

Cheers

Mike,

Really depends on exactly what coverage is extended to you as a member of the club.

In your position as a business owner, I'd think you might have a bit more on the line than many folks. Suggest that talking to your pros (lawyer and insurance agent) would be a good place to start - the question (to me) is how exposed you are if your negligence sets you up for a liability claim while operating the club airplane. I'm not sure you're any more exposed than you are driving your car - you could run over some little kids driving. But you may have more coverage for that liability than you would flying.

Good luck.

Good input, Tim. Thanks!