Information on becoming an Aerial applicator AKA crop duster.

Levijohnson

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Levijohnson
I am a professional Aerial Applicator and have been one for 10 years, before that I worked for an aerial applicating company for 3 years on the ground, so I have a combine experience of 13 years in the industry. If you have any questions are slight interested in becoming an aerial applicator I will be glad to answer your questions. Please no insults, I have a great career and make an above average salary at my career.

Thanks,

Levi

Any age limits on starting out?

Cost to get started/training?

My questions as well. How to get trained, how to get hired after training. Training costs. I'm an older pilot with substantial total time including tailwheel. Job opportunities in Eastern PA?

No Age limits as long as you're able to pass a 2nd class medical. You can go through Ag training and it's usually around 12-13k but truth be told it really isn't enough, there's a step learning curve. About PA, That state doesn't have a lot of fixed wing aerial applicators, I know there are quite a bit of helicopters. You would be better off going someone for a few months a year and returning back to PA to live.

The only Ag course now is Morris rigginz, riggins flying service out of madison south dakota, he is also an DPE. Ag flight, and eagle vista owners passed away recently.

Are there jobs? Most certainly, but you won't be making a lot of money until you get into a turbine aircraft, almost everyone starts in a small piston unless the operator is hoping for an insurance claim. I fly an airtactor 502 and 602 models.