In Light Turbulence (gyro-stabilized video)

iWantWings

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
wingsIwant
I know I've posted a video like this before, but I am starting to really like the perspective of a gyro-stabilized gopro. AWOS reported winds 18 gusting to 25, mostly down the runway. Not bad, but because the runway's length and end are bounded by dense trees, there's a bit more turbulence than if these structures weren't there.

And the stabilized camera mount shows how my reaction to the wind is either delayed or exaggerated. It's also neat to see the latency between input to yoke and plane actually responding with the bank.

If I was an instructor, I would really consider using the single-axis (maybe even dual) gopro mount (someone posted a link to a very nice dual-axis mount and I will at some point get it).

Nice. ,makes me want one. You do realize that the runway is all yours though right? There is no left and right lane like the freeway... It's all yours.

Jes messin....... :p

Nice. ,makes me want one. You do realize that the runway is all yours though right? There is no left and right lane like the freeway... It's all yours.

Jes messin....... :p
Anyone considerate pilot will give one side of the runway a break from their landing wrath every now and then.

Distributing the wear across the whole width of the runway is just one of the public service tasks that some of us civic minded individuals undertake.

I would never admit that I have trimmed the grass on the runway edge......never.

All right, you're all too funny. I didn't think anyone would notice :D. There was only slight xwind from the right but enough to make me drift near the grass.

So on takeoff, after one gets a little above the treeline height, the wind flow is smooth, not turbulent at all. The opposite is true on landing though: on start of final it's all smooth, then as the plane descends on short final, at tree top height and below, things start getting choppy.